top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNora

one down, one to go

Updated: Dec 22, 2019

We have just finished our first tour. We are in Windhoek, Namibia for a few days before flying to Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe for Christmas and to join our second tour.

We spent yesterday on a safari in Etosha Park. Saw many different animals out in the open. They included a pride of lions that wandered across the road in front of the vehicle. We also saw a tower of giraffes and several herds of zebras. But I think my favourite animals were the springboks. They are a delicate looking animal in the antelope family. Very beautiful.

We had rain while we were in Etosha, and so the animals were not congregating around the usual waterholes. As our guide said, there was water everywhere, so they can just stay in the bush and feed.

Steve and I wimped out on camping in Etosha. We paid for an "upgrade" to a room with four walls and a roof. We were glad, because it rained heavily our first night there. I have had my fill of camping in the rain.

We did camp at the Sosus Oasis park, however. Two nights in a tent, but we had mattresses, so it was quite nice. From there we went to SWAKOPMUND which is on the coast. While in SWAKOPMUND we went on the "Living Desert" tour. We saw all the tiny animals, like geckos and a chameleon. How our guide managed to find such tiny things in the vastness of the desert I don't know. It was impressive.


Well, I think Steve wants to go out for a bit, so I will leave this. I will add pictures later.

One of the giraffes.

A herd of zebras.

One of the herd of springboks.



The last of the pride of lions.


56 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

I'm back! Ndirandi Social Club

I thought I was finished writing about Malawi, but not so! There is one thing that I never wrote much about, and it's a project we were hoping to get more involved with. It's the Ndirandi Social Clu

The last post?

Life continues as normally as possible, given the circumstances of COVID-19, and the fact that we are still in the mission residence in Toronto. We get up and check email and Facebook and so on. Som

Rammy

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page